Faith Like A Child

In a normal parenting situation, children trust their parents.
Children believe their parents intentions are good. They believe what they say.  Kids don’t go to a parents workplace or friends and ask, “Hey, how has my parent been a jerk or not followed through with their words?”  Kids don’t keep a list of accusations against their parent when they let them down (until they get older and choose not to forgive). Kids form their own opinions based on personal interaction with their parents.
Yet, we sometimes approach God that way. What do people say about Him? How do I interpret negative life experiences?
We sometimes build a case against Him.
I’ve been a pastor for almost 20 years. I will be the absolute first to tell you that I don’t understand everything about God. I have questions. I struggle and wrestle with negative and painful circumstances of life. But, I fight to hold onto the truth that He is good and I can trust Him. You don’t find invitations to understand God in the Bible.
If we could build relationships with understanding we could program machines to be our friends because they would be predictable and we could always understand. But, we are not machines. We have a much deeper capacity to connect. But, it requires trust. Love requires trust and good faith. It appears to be risky. One day we will all understand that He was trustworthy all along and it was foolish to see trusting Him as a risk.
The alternative (our natural instinct) is to approach God not as a trusting child, but as an adult with a list of accusations, suspicions and questions (some that will never be fully answered on this earth) that will never allow us to enter into the place He operates and lives. His kingdom.
He has already invited you and I am too.
“Truly, I say to you, whoever does not receive the kingdom of God like a child shall not enter it.” Luke 18:17
“Since he did not spare even his own Son but gave him up for us all, won’t he also give us everything else?”
‭‭Romans‬ ‭8:32‬ ‭NLT‬‬
Related Reading:


via Daily Post 

3 Comments

Leave a comment